## **Approval of International Reference Group Proposal**

The CTF and the SCF Trust Fund Committees, recalling the request made at their joint meeting in November 2012, to the Evaluation Oversight Committee to present as soon as possible a proposal for the composition of the international reference group for the independent evaluation of the Climate Investment Funds, welcomes the nomination for the internal reference group submitted by the Evaluation Oversight Committee and approves the following composition of the group:

- a) Dr. Qwanruedee Chotichanatawong, President of the Thailand Environment Institute,
- b) Dr. Kirit Parikh, Chairman, Integrated Research and Action for Development,
- c) Professor Martin Parry, visiting Professor, Center for Environmental Policy, Imperial College London, and Visiting Research Fellow, Grantham Institute,
- d) Ms. Frances Seymour, until recently Director-General, International Center for Forestry Research.
- e) Dr. Youba Sokona, Co-Chair of Working Group III of the IPCC Fifth Assessment Report.
- f) Dr. Alvaro Umaña, Senior Research Fellow, CATIE (Tropical Agronomic Center for Research and Higher Education),

## **Approved by Mail: International Reference Group Proposal**

Dear CTF and SCF Trust Fund Committee Members:

We are writing regarding the revised proposed decision approving a proposal from the Evaluation Oversight Committee (EOC) for the composition of the international reference group to be associated with the independent evaluation of the CIF.

The extended time period provided for submission of comments and any objection to the decision has now expired. No objections were received.

We are, therefore, pleased to inform you that the following decision is approved:

The CTF and the SCF Trust Fund Committees, recalling the request made at their joint meeting in November 2012, to the Evaluation Oversight Committee to present as soon as possible a proposal for the composition of the international reference group for the independent evaluation of the Climate Investment Funds, welcomes the nomination for the internal reference group submitted by the Evaluation Oversight Committee and approves the following composition of the group:

- a) Dr. Qwanruedee Chotichanatawong, President of the Thailand Environment Institute,
- b) Dr. Kirit Parikh, Chairman, Integrated Research and Action for Development,
- c) Professor Martin Parry, visiting Professor, Center for Environmental Policy, Imperial College London, and Visiting Research Fellow, Grantham Institute,
- d) Ms. Frances Seymour, until recently Director-General, International Center for Forestry Research.
- e) Dr. Youba Sokona, Co-Chair of Working Group III of the IPCC Fifth Assessment Report.
- f) Dr. Alvaro Umaña, Senior Research Fellow, CATIE (Tropical Agronomic Center for Research and Higher Education),

Sincerely,

Patricia Bliss-Guest Climate Investment Funds, Program Manager CIF Administrative Unit 1818 H Street NW Washington, D.C. 20433 www.climateinvestmentfunds.org

## **Approval by Mail: International Reference Group Proposal**

Dear CTF and SCF Trust Fund Committee members.

You will recall that at the joint meeting of the CTF and SCF Committees held in Istanbul on November 2, 2012, the meeting, when reviewing the progress that had been made in preparing the independent evaluation of the CIF, requested "the Evaluation Oversight Committee to present to the Trust Fund Committees for approval as soon as possible a proposal for the composition of the international reference group."

Please find attached to this e-mail a note on the nomination process and a list of the experts nominated to serve on the international reference group for the independent evaluation of the CIF that has been prepared by the Evaluation Oversight Committee.

The Trust Fund Committees are invited to review the attached note and to approve the following decision:

The CTF and the SCF Trust Fund Committees, recalling the request made at their joint meeting in November 2012, to the Evaluation Oversight Committee to present as soon as possible a proposal for the composition of the international reference group for the independent evaluation of the Climate Investment Funds, welcomes the nomination for the internal reference group submitted by the Evaluation Oversight Committee and approves the following composition of the group:

- a) Dr. Qwanruedee Chotichanatawong, President of the Thailand Environment Institute,
- b) Dr. Kirit Parikh, Chairman, Integrated Research and Action for Development,
- c) Professor Martin Parry, visiting Professor, Center for Environmental Policy, Imperial College London, and Visiting Research Fellow, Grantham Institute, and
- d) Ms. Frances Seymour, until recently Director-General, International Center for Forestry Research.

If we do not receive an objection to this proposed decision by close of business on **February 6, 2013**, the decision will be approved.

## Sincerely,

Patricia Bliss-Guest Climate Investment Funds, Program Manager CIF Administrative Unit 1818 H Street NW Washington, D.C. 20433 www.climateinvestmentfunds.org



Reference Group nominations 21 Jan 2013.pdf