Strategic Climate Fund

 Smoke coming out of three smokestacks at a nuclear power plant. - Photo: Shutterstock

The Strategic Climate Fund (SCF) is one of the two funds of the Climate Investment Funds. It serves as an overarching framework to support three targeted programs with dedicated funding to pilot new approaches with potential for scaled-up, transformational action aimed at a specific climate change challenge or sectoral response.

Targeted programs under the SCF include:

  • The Forest Investment Program (FIP), approved in May 2009, aims to support developing countries’ efforts to reduce emissions from deforestation and forest degradation by providing scaled-up financing for readiness reforms and public and private investments.  It will finance programmatic efforts to address the underlying causes of deforestation and forest degradation and to overcome barriers that have hindered past efforts to do so.
  • The Pilot Program for Climate Resilience (PPCR), approved in November 2008, was the first program under the SCF to become operational.  Its objective is to pilot and demonstrate ways to integrate climate risk and resilience into core development planning, while complementing other ongoing activities.   
  • The Program for Scaling-Up Renewable Energy in Low Income Countries (SREP), approved in May 2009, is aimed at demonstrating the social, economic, and environmental viability of low carbon development pathways in the energy sector. It seeks to create new economic opportunities and increase energy access through the production and use of renewable energy. 

Through its targeted programs, SCF is designed to:

  1. Provide experience and lessons through learning-by-doing.
  2. Channel new and additional financing for climate change mitigation and adaptation.
  3. Provide incentives for scaled-up and transformational action in the context of poverty reduction.
  4. Provide incentives to maintain, restore and enhance carbon-rich natural ecosystems, and maximize the co-benefits of sustainable development.

 CIF's programs often cross across the Themes of climate resilience, energy efficiency, forests, renewable energy and transport.

Multilateral Development Bank Focal Points:

MDB Focal Point
AfDB

Kurt Lonsway, Manager, k.lonsway@afdb.org

Abdoulaye Dagamaissa, Manager,a.dagamaissa@afdb.org

Gareth Philips,Chief Climate and green Growth Officer, g.philips@afdb.org

Joao Duarte Cunha,Chief Climate Finance Officer, j.cunha@afdb.org

Leandro Azevedo, CIF Private Sector and Finance Consultant,l.azevedo@afdb.org

ADB

Preety Bhandari,Director,pbhandari@adb.org

Ancha Srinivasan, Principal Climate Change Specialist, asrinivasan@adb.org 

Jiwan Acharya, Climate Change Specialist (Energy), jacharya@adb.org

Cinzia Losenno, Sr.Environmental Specialist,closenno@adb.org

Lorie Rufo, Sr.Climate Change Officer, lrufo@adb.org

EBRD

Andreas Biermann, Senior Policy Manager,  biermana@ebrd.com

Marta Simonetti Whitford, Principal Manager, Donor Co-Financing, VP Policy, simonetm@ebrd.com

Craig Davies, Senior Manager,daviesc@ebrd.com

IDB

Gloria ViscontiClimate Change Lead Specialist, gloriav@iadb.org

Claudio Alatorre, Climate Change Lead Specialistcalatorre@iadb.org

Alfredo Idiarte, CIF Private Sector Focal Point, aidiarte@iadb.org

Alfred Grunwaldt,Climate Change Senior Specialist, alfredg@iadb.org

Gerard Alleng, Climate Change Senior Specialist,gerarda@iadb.org

IFC

Joyita Mukherjee, Sr. Operations Officer, jmukherjee1@ifc.org

Kruskaia Sierra Escalante, Principal Counsel,KSierraescalante@ifc.org

Andrey Shlyakhtenko, Operations Officer, AShlyakhtenko@ifc.org

Laura Gaensly, Operations Officer, lgaensly@ifc.org

WB

Gerhard Dieterle, Adviser for FIP and DGM, gdieterle@worldbank.org

Kanta Kumari Rigaud, Lead Environmental Specialist, kkumari@worldbank.org

Karan Capoor, Senior Energy Specialist, kcapoor@worldbank.org

Madhavi Pillai, Sr.Natural Resources Specialist, mpillai3@worldbank.org

Federico Querio, Energy Specialist, fquerio@worldbank.org